RS polls for six TN seats on June 10

Chennai, May 12 : The Biennial elections for six seats in Tamil Nadu, which will fall vacant on June 29, will be held on June 10. Releasing the election schedule for 57 seats in 15 states today, the Election Commission of India (ECI) said the term of office of six members–three each from the DMK and the AIADMK–elected from Tamil Nadu is due to expire on June 29. The six members are T.K.S. Elangovan, R.S. Bharathi, K.R.N. Rajeshkumar (all DMK), A. Navaneethakrishnan, A. Vijayakumar and S.R. Balasubramoniyan (all AIADMK). The ECI said notification for the polls will be issued on May 24. The last date for filing of nominations is May 31 and the scrutiny will take place the next day (June one). The last date for withdrawal is June three and the polling, if necessary, will be held on June 10 from 09:00 am- 04:00 pm. The Counting of votes will be taken up on June 10 and the election process shall be completed on June 13. The ECI said Biennial Elections to the Council of States will be held to fill the seats of members retiring between June 21 and August one, 2022. The term of office of 57 members of the Council of States elected from 15 States is due to expire on their retirement on the dates during the period from June-August. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here