JK Agricultural Science Congress concludes

6 th J&K Agricultural Science Congress concluded today at Sher-e-Kashmir University of
Agricultural Science and Technology – Jammu. The Congress was organized in collaboration with J&K Science, Technology and Innovation Council, Department of Science & Technology, UT of J&K. The main theme of the Congress was “Diversification of Agriculture for Self-Reliant Mountain Agro-Ecology”. Professor B. N. Tripathi, the Vice Chancellor of SKUAST-Jammu, graced the valedictory function as the Chief Guest. Addressing the audience, Professor Tripathi emphasized the pressing concern of climate change and stressed the importance of biodiversity conservation and genetic research to mitigate its effects. He highlighted the unique multidisciplinary nature of the conference, underlining the need for agriculture to become a lucrative venture. Professor Tripathi advocated for the development of area-specific cropping patterns incorporating profitable enterprises, to be disseminated to end-users through Krishi Vigyan Kendras (KVKs). He urged the refinement of technology to better address farmers’ problems and enhance applicability.

More than 300 delegates from across the country participated in the three day
deliberations. There were 11 sub themes where in more than 60 oral presentations
were made and more than 80 posters were presented during the Congress. Conveners
of all the themes read out the recommendations generated out of the sessions. Dr. S. K.
Gupta, Director Research, SKUAST-Jammu and convener of the Congress welcomed
the Chief Guest and all the delegates. He said that the significant recommendations
formulated during the congress will be communicated to development departments for
formulation of sound policies for promoting agriculture and allied sectors in the region.
Prof Anil Kumar, Dean Faculty of Agriculture and Prof Rajesh Katoch, Dean FVSc &AH
also spoke on the occasion. Awards were also given to best oral and poster
presentations under different categories. All the statutory officers of the university, Head
of the Divisions, faculty members, delegates, students were presented during the
session. The vote of thanks was presented by the organizing secretary, Prof. Vikas


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here