Bikram Keshari Arukh elected as Speaker of Odisha Legislative Assembly

Bhubaneswar, Jun 13 : Former minister, Senior BJD leader and six time MLA from Bhanjanagar Assembly Constituency was unanimously elected as the Speaker of the Odisha Assembly in a special session on Monday.
Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik moved a motion proposing the name of Arukh as the Speaker of the Assembly and the proposal was supported by state Parliamentary Affairs Minister Niranjan Pujari.

Deputy Speaker Rajani Kanta Singh declared Bikram Keshari Arukh as the Speaker after the house passed the motion moved by the Chief Minister by voice vote.

Patnaik thanked the members for electing Arukh as the Speaker and requested them to extend their support and cooperation

The necessary for electing a new Speaker arose after Suryanarayan Patro resigned from the post of Speaker on June 4 last on health grounds just a day before the reshuffle of the Ministry.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here