MHA sanctions three new branches of NIA

New Delhi, Sep 28 (UNI) The Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) on September 25 sanctioned three new branches of National Investigation Agency (NIA) at Imphal, Chennai and Ranchi, the anti-terror probe agency announced on Monday. The MHA decision will help in ensuring quick response to any emergent situation in the concerned States by the premier anti-terror investigation agency of the country.

‘It will strengthen the NIA’s capability in investigation of terrorism-related cases and other national security-related matters. It will also facilitate the timely collection of crucial information and evidence related to such offences,’ the agency said.

At present, the NIA has nine branches located at Guwahati, Mumbai, Jammu, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Kochi, Lucknow, Raipur and Chandigarh, besides specialised units at headquarter in New Delhi.

The Centre’s decision to open three new branches will help in accomplishing its main vision to effectively fight against the scourge of terrorism and strengthen the anti-terror response framework of the country, the NIA officials said.

The National Investigation Agency was constituted under the NIA Act, 2008 as the aftermath of the Mumbai terror attack of 2008. It comes under the Ministry of Home Affairs and was set up in 2019.

It acts as the Central Counter-Terrorism Law Enforcement Agency, which is authorised to investigate any terror-related matter across the country, without taking any special permission from the states.

With latest amendments to the NIA Act in 2019 by Parliament, this agency has been empowered to probe terrorist activities against India and Indian interests abroad, cyber crimes and human trafficking.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here