JD(U) leader and minister Niraj Kumar files nomination for Bihar Legislative Council

Patna, Oct 01 (UNI) Bihar Information and Public Relations Department Minister and Janta Dal (United) leader Niraj Kumar today filed his nomination for election from the graduates’ constituency of Bihar Legislative Council.

While filing the nomination papers at the commissioners’ office, Mr. Kumar followed all the guidelines and maintained social distancing.

Dileep Kumar Choudhary of JD( U) had filled his papers for Darbhanga Graduates’ Constituency while Lalu Prasad Yadav filled his papers for Saran teachers’ constituency as an Independent candidate on the first day of filing of the nominations.

Notification for election to the four seats of graduates’ constituency of Patna, Darbhanga, Tirhut and Kosi while four seats of teachers’ constituency of Patna, Darbhanga, Tirhut and Saran of Bihar Legislative Council was issued on Monday.

Nominations can be filled till October 5 while scrutiny of nomination papers would be conducted on October 6.

As per the schedule, willing candidates would have the option to withdraw their nominations by October 8.

Polling would be held on October 22 and counting of votes would be taken up on November 12.

As it is, the term of Neeraj Kumar from Patna graduates’ constituency, Dilip Kumar Chaudhary from Darbhanga graduates’ constituency, Devesh Chandra Thakur from Tirhut graduates’ constituency and Dr N K Yadav of Kosi graduates’ constituency, while Nawal Kishore Yadav of Patna teachers’ constituency, Madan Mohan Jha of Darbhanga teachers’ constituency, Sanjay Kumar Singh of teachers’ constituency and Kedar Pandey of Saran teachers’ constituency had ended on May 6.

Election to these seats was to be held on April 3 but it was deferred due to COVID 19 pandemic.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here